Top Regis Scholar-Athletes Honored at Academic Excellence Ceremony

Top Regis Scholar-Athletes Honored at Academic Excellence Ceremony

WESTON, Mass. – The Regis College athletic department invited 109 Pride student-athletes along with administrators, faculty, coaches, alumni, and other guests to the sixth annual Student-Athlete Academic Excellence Ceremony, held Tuesday in the foyer of College Hall as a part of NCAA Division III Week at the school.  

Student-athletes who have maintained a 3.2 cumulative grade point average during the current academic year were invited to the ceremony, and they were welcome to invite a member of the Regis faculty that has had a significant impact on their collegiate experience. The 109 invited sophomore, junior, and senior student-athletes are the most in the six-year history of this event.

The assembled crowd was welcomed by Pam Roecker, Dean of Athletics, before they heard from Regis College President Dr. Antoinette Hays. The keynote speeches were given by two past Regis-Casserly Award winners: Stacy Burns '14, a three-sport athlete in field hockey, swimming & diving, and lacrosse during her time on campus, and Michael Barile '09, a basketball student-athlete who was the first male recipient of the prestigious award.

Dr. Kara Kolomitz, Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment, closed out the ceremony with remarks about how meaningful a display of Regis athletics items was to her son's school. Everyone was then welcome to partake in a dessert bar and spend some time with each other before running off to class, practice, a meeting, or some other activity.

This ceremony has become a part of Regis' celebration of NCAA Division III Week, an initiative to raise awareness about how Division III student-athletes are going through "a comprehensive learning experience that develops successful leaders and professionals." Laura Violette, Assistant Athletic Director/Compliance Coordinator/Senior Woman Administrator, and Dr. Elizabeth Conant, Faculty Athletic Representative, worked together to identify the student-athletes eligible to attend the ceremony and to put together the list of speakers for the event.

The following student-athletes were invited to attend the ceremony due to their exemplary academic performance:

Men's Basketball (3): Juvens Dalger, Marc Trinidad, Isaiah Wilson

Women's Basketball (6): Nikki Bitinaitis, Kasey Britton-Doucette, Sam D'Angelo, Miranda Hernandez, Chayla Louro, Maura Russell

Women's Cross Country (1): Maggie Mann

Field Hockey (8): Yvonne Abate, Aineen Callahan, MacKenzie Cattaruzza, Ashley Chipman, Jamie Juskiewicz, Alycia LeConche, Joslyn O'Brien, Hope Winkin

Men's Lacrosse (6): Logan Bateman, Andrew Cook, Brendon Donahue, JJ LaRose, George Nicolopoulos, Brian Wagner

Women's Lacrosse (6): Kerri Anselmo, Bridget Dowling, Alyssa Kelly, Malorie Kiehl, Jordyn Ringuette, Maddy Rodriguez

Men's Soccer (7): Andrew Barros, Jesse Bonilla, Cesar Da Silva, Fabyanno Furbino, Scott Holcomb, Sal Madera, Derek Triana

Women's Soccer (15): Kara Carchedi, Jamie Carucci, Bailey Elliott, Erin Filetti, Payton Fitzgerald, Abby Flaherty, Noelle Garcia, Gabrielle Gately, Brianna Gaynor, Rachel Kelly, Emily Lange, Emma Mendes, Faith Montgomery, Jenna Novio, Shelagh O'Neil

Softball (6): Kelsey Grimard, Emma Kelly, Brianna Napoleone, Nikki Papadopoulos, Ellery Rasmussen, Alyssa Rossillo

Men's Swimming and Diving (4): Grant Kollien, Connor Schwarze, Ryan Tinney, Joshua Unas

Women's Swimming and Diving (8): Caoilinn Bassignani, Thalia Bowie, Meghan Caggiano, Amy Collins, Sarah Leonard, Katherine Mariano, Ryan Moran, Lila Williams

Men's Tennis (4): Cam Charbonneau, Matt DaRosso, Owen Pelissier, Evan Russell

Women's Tennis (2): Ginger Boodakian, Ariana McCormack

Men's Track & Field (3): Cole Anderson, Matt Malone, Frank Pelleteri

Women's Track & Field (6): Vanessa Avard, Elliana Boebel, Elisabeth Cooke, Cassie Froio, Liz Ksepka, Sofia Puccio

Men's Volleyball (3): Drew Beimel, Alexander Bui, Sebastian Valdes

Women's Volleyball (10): Meg Adams, Erika Andreoli, Rachel Bartels, Lauren Butt, MacKenzie Emco, Caroline Fuentes, Erin Gallagher, Victoria Godfroy, Emma Morales Cestero, Tori Ondris

Multiple Sports (7): Mary Costantino (Field Hockey, Lacrosse), Brianna Goguen (Basketball, Softball), Kiana Koke (Field Hockey, Lacrosse), JJ Pedersen (Cross Country, Track & Field), Shane Romanchick (Cross Country, Track & Field), Jovan Sematimba (Cross Country, Track & Field), Sean Toomey (Cross Country, Track & Field)